Is Dropbox Secure?

Do You Know the Risks of Using Dropbox in the Workplace?

Our technicians regularly come across employees using Dropbox on their workplace computers. You might not realize, but this is actually a big concern because the basic version of Dropbox can put your business at risk of data theft, data loss or worse.

Many of our clients are now using OnCloud, a service that supports the growing BYOD (bring your own device) trend by making it possible for employees to access their files on any device and collaborate with colleagues, clients and business partners.

 

Is It Time to Drop Dropbox?

Unlike consumer-grade file services like Dropbox, Anchor provides employees with the freedom to share and access files, while arming administrators with these great security features and a high level of control:

• Limit/control which devices are permitted to sync
• Audit file syncs and changes
• Remotely wipe data from lost or stolen devices
• Monitor and manage how employees use mobile their devices

If employees in your workplace are using Dropbox and you’re interested in finding out more about this secure file sharing alternative, contact us online or give us a call at (262) 522-8560.

The risk of Dropbox in the workplace is based upon which Dropbox plan you are utilizing.

Due to rising data loss concerns and news of ransomware traveling via emailed Dropbox links, many Ontech customers are opting to prohibit Dropbox altogether in the workplace and move to OnCloud as an alternative.

What would this look like, should your business take this path?

Security: Dropbox users would move to OnCloud File Sync, a business-grade, 100% secure file sharing alternative that supports the growing BYOD (bring your own device) trend by allowing employees to access files from any device.

OnCloud is a solution that is compliant with your business’s security needs.

Flexibility: Aside from security, OnCloud provides users with better flexibility to collaborate with team members and clients.

What happens to Dropbox files and users’ experience with Dropbox?

  • No one within the network will be able to go to dropbox.com – on the private network and guest.
  • PCs will be prohibited from running the program.
  • Emails that contain Dropbox links won’t be delivered.
  • Existing Dropbox users can no longer share links from within the network.

IMPORTANT: If users have Dropbox already installed on their PC’s, they will NOT lose Dropbox folders or content. Uninstalling the program simply uninstalls he program, not the content.

Request a FREE Network Discovery

Network Discovery includes: Audit of current network, infrastructure, server(s), PC's, backup, security performance, reliability, followed with Q&A Session with our network consultant.

Contact Information

Ontech Systems

N85W16186
Appleton Ave
Suite A
Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

File Sharing Solutions and Support

Are Security Risks Lurking in Your Network?

We will identify potential vulnerabilities in your network. No obligation. No cost to you.

FREE NETWORK DISCOVERY